Teaching and Tasties

Delicious eats and daring, death-defying teaching feats

A little Rachel Ray never hurt anyone…right? February 21, 2009

Filed under: Food — tlsussman @ 8:43 pm

chicken-mole

Recently, I received a copy of Everyday with Rachel Ray in the mail.  Unbeknownst to me, I guess I subscribed.  While at first I thought this might be a HUGE mistake, I decided to give it a try.  A lot of the foods she cooks I would never eat – gluten-free or not – because they are full of pork and other assundry foods that I don’t eat, but I figured I would give it a look-see.  I would say that in 2 issues, I pulled out a decent size stack that can be made GF and allergy friendly.

As it was Sunday, it was cooking day, so I decided to give it a try.  Why not, right??  I just happened to go to an Asian food mart the week before and I picked up some really pretty rice (red and sweet black).  I had no clue what either tasted like, but I figured, if nothing else, they were pretty and different.  The red rice made me think of Mexican/Spanish rice, which led me to a recipe for chicken mole, one of my fave Mexican dishes.  The recipe was pretty easy and turned out quite well (if I may say so myself).  So here it goes!

veggie oil (I also used chili oil to give it a bit more flavor)

chicken wings

garlic

2 tbsp chili powder

1/2 tsp allspice powder

3 tbsp tomato paste

3 oz dark chocolate, coarsly chopped (I used baking chocolate, but any would do)

1 tsp hot pepper sauce

drizzle of agave or honey (My addition)

chopped cilantro

1. Brown chicken in a heavy skillet over medium-high heat, turning ocassionaly; transfer to a plate.  Add garlic, chili powder and allspice and cook, stirring, for 1 min.  Stir in tomato paste, scraping up the brown bits from the bottom.  Add 1 C water, chocolate, hot sauce, agave and pinch of salt and cook, stirring until chocolate is melted.

2. Return wings to the pan, lower heat, cover and simmer until the wings are cooked through and sauce is reduced to a thick glaze; about 20 min.  Sprinkle with cilantro.

I found the recipe to lack a bit of sweetness that mole often has, so I added some sprinkles of agave nectar.  I also adjusted the chile sauce to give it an extra kick.  I really liked the taste of the chicken cooked in chili oil as well, I think it just kicks the recipe up a notch.  The nice thing about all of this, was that it took no more than 30 minutes for the whole thing and it looked amazing at the end, without much help!

Recipe #2 was just as easy, although I didn’t really follow it. (A bad habbit, perhaps?)

I’ve tried numerous times to make zucchini or potato-ish pancakes, but they never seem to want to stay together.  Last time I tried, they fell apart so badly that I used the veggie-egg mix to make fried rice, which I have to admit was really good!

Zucchini & Sweet Potato Pancakes

1 large zucchini, peeled and grated (I used the mandolin, since they were sorta on their way out)

2 sweet small potatoes, peeled and grated

scallions

GF flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill baking flour)

Spanish smoked paprika (although any kind will do)

Salt & Pepper

2 eggs

Dijon Mustard

oil for frying

1. Mix the zucchini, sweet potato, scallions, flour, paprika, salt and pepper in a medium sized bowl.  In a separate bowl, beat the eggs and dijon mustard.  Add to  zucchini mixture and combine well.

2. In a skillet, heat the oil over medium-high heat.  Add 1/3 cup mounds (I used a measuring cup as a scoop), flattening into rounds.  Lower the heat and cook until golden.  Transfer onto a paper towel-lined plate.

These had such a great flavor between the sweet potato and dijon mustard.  The Spanish paprika added volumes to the flavor, as well, because of its’ sweet-smoky taste.  I really love the stuff and everyone should own it!  The great thing about the pancakes, is they were SO inexpensive to make and are a wonderful side dish or snack.  According to Rachel Ray, they cost $6.00 total, which is $1.50 per person.  BUT, she used ham, so you can even knock some money off that.  I love a great treat that is easy on the wallet.

On a totally separate note…

I ordered some goodies from a bakery in Floriday.  Look out for my report!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

