Teaching and Tasties

Delicious eats and daring, death-defying teaching feats

I <3 Sundays! January 25, 2009

Filed under: Food — tlsussman @ 6:05 pm

When I was little, I thought Sunday was the worst day of the week.  My family didn’t do much on Sundays.  I went to Sunday school and sometimes we ate lunch out.  Being the overachiever I was (am), I was already finished with homework, so all that was left to do was sit around.  Well, that has all changed.  Sunday has becoe one of the best days of the week.

I’m trying really hard to eat home more.  Save some money, worry less about feeling like crap and I get to explore the wonderful world of new flavors and fun recipes!  Sunday, therefore, is the perfect day for me.  I have a week of work ahead and need lunch and dinner for the week.  Although I would prefer to cook dinner every night, cooking on Sundays for the entire week ensures that eat healthy, delicious food and do not go out (as much!).

For the last few Sundays, my boyfriend, Brian, has been out all day.  (He’s working on some side projects I hope I will get to write about soon!)  I’ve taken this opportunity to whip up some really yummy dishes to get me ready for the upcoming week.

All of the following recipes come from Veganomicon (a.k.a. my new bible).  I have changed them a bit to match my tastes and what’s available in my cabinets and fridge.

The first dish for this week is a sweet and sour soup with nappa cabbage.  Extremely easy and quite tasty.  It isn’t quite the traditional soup, but I like that it has a ton of goodies in it to be a bit more filling.

hot-sour-soup

Soak mixed, dried mushrooms in boiling water for 20 min.  Add 1/4 cup soy sauce (GF, of course!), 1 tsp sesame oil, 4 cups veggie stock and 1/4 cup rice wine vinegar and chile oil in a pot.  Add sliced nappa cabbage and fresh mushrooms to the pot.  Simmer until cabbage wilts (about 5 min).  Drain mushrooms, cut into bite-size pieces and add to the soup.  Dissolve 1 heaping tbsp of arrowroot powder in 1 cup cold water.  Add to the soup and stir to mix.  Add grated carrot and sliced tofu (cut into matchstick pieces).  Cook until warmed through.  Serve 🙂

Next on tap was the Mexican Millet.  This is SO easy and quite tasty.  I actually really like mine for breakfast.  However, tonight, it will be a side to tacos.

mexican-millet

Anyway…the ingredients are:

garlic

onions

1 jalepeño, seeded and diced

1 cup millet

2 cups stock

tomato paste

1 tomato, seeded and diced

cumin

salt

Heat the oil in a pan and add the garlic.  When it starts to sizzle, add onoins and jalapeño.  Saute for 5 minutes or so and add the millet.  Toast the millet until it is golden brown and then add stock, tomato paste, cumin, salt and diced tomato.  Bring to a boil.  Stir once and cover.  Lower the heat and simmer until the water disappears.  Turn off the heat and let sit for 10 minutes.  Fluff millet and eat!

I have to say that the first time I ate millet, I don’t think I was so enchanted.  However, this recipe is perfect.  The millet is a little soft and a little crunchy and is a great replacement for rice.

Finally, tonight’s main course.  I was at the farmer’s market this weekend.  I know, amazing, but Chicago’s Green City Market (which is TOTALLY fabulous and huge in the summer) is in for the winter at the Peggy Notebart Nature Museum.  It is every 2nd Saturday of the month.  The market was a little weak, if you ask me, but it was nice to go and see what was there.  The veggies were EXTREMELY expensive – $7 for a bag of spinach?!?! – but there were some goodies that made it worth the while. One vendor sells black beans.  They were harvested this fall and are suppsed to be extremely fresh and fantastic.  I bought some and will let you know.  The most exciting find, however, was huitlacoche.

Huitlacoche is a Mexican corn fungs.  It grows naturally on corn and is then harvested and sold 🙂  Brian had some when he was in Mexcio and has not stopped talking about it since!  When I saw it, I knew I had to have it.  It was sold to me frozen, but the plan is to saute the huitlacoche with some taco seasonings, onions and red pepper.  I am really excited.  It was a bit expensive, but perhaps worth it.  In fact, I should buy it more often…Brian actually offered to be home for dinner!!!

The huitlacoche was tasty and added really nice flavor to the tacos.  I’m sorry to say, however, that between the huitlacoche, the corn tortillas and the chilaquiles I had for breakfast, my body was raging at me.  I think I slept through the next three days.  Try teaching a bunch of middle schoolers when you are half asleep 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

