Teaching and Tasties

Delicious eats and daring, death-defying teaching feats

Traveling tales October 22, 2008

Filed under: School — tlsussman @ 1:45 am

So it is almost the end of 1st quarter, and the traveling isn’t getting any easier.  Besides being on the cart and in four classrooms for four periods, I also have to deal with getting back and forth to the elementary to teach the 4th and 5th graders.  I think that traveling wouldn’t have been so bad, except that I was so used to having my own classroom.  To go from having my own space and my own room, to sharing 3 different classrooms is driving me insane!  I am extremely organized, yet I can’t seem to get it together.  Maybe my system just isn’t good?

The other issue is the problem of the elementary school.  While I think the kids are totally cute and we do have a decently good time together (as they find just about EVERYTHING amusing), it is very trying.  I walk into another teacher’s classroom and the kids all of a sudden believe that they don’t have to follow classroom rules.  Besides, I see them for 25 min, 2 times a week.  Not much I can do with that.  In fact, many of them call me the name of last year’s teacher.  Oh well.  I just don’t even know how to deal with them.

I love the middle schoolers – I can be sarcastic and joke with them and we can create a relationship.  I don’t get that with the elementary.  It is just a burden and takes me away from the more important things in my life – the middle schoolers.  I hope that this is not a permanent thing…or I may have to find a new job 😦

 

Leave a Reply

