Teaching and Tasties

Delicious eats and daring, death-defying teaching feats

A year long project? September 4, 2008

Filed under: School — tlsussman @ 12:49 am

I am feeling like a first year teacher all over again.  This is my fourth year at the same school, teaching the same subject to the same grades…yet without a classroom of my own I feel totally helpless.  I know others do it all the time, but to spend three years with my own classroom and then **poof** it’s gone.  :> sigh.

In order to keep my sanity and make myself feel better, I have resorted to creating lots of new projects and fun things for the kids and myself.  Some might say this is craziness and will only make matters worse, but I think it will help me stay focused and make sure I do great things for the kids.

So my new idea is sort of a year long project on someone.  Rather, a random clipart picture that the kids will pull from a hat.  This will be their new friend, who they have to learn and share everything about.  It is almost like having a pen pal but not quite.  So as we start the year with greetings and introductions.  The kids will start to write from the perspective of their friend.  As each theme passes, they will write more and more.  I haven’t quite gotten farther than that…but I think the end goal is to have a book or something of the sort.  The kids always write about themselves, which I love – it helps me get to know them – but I feel like some kids don’t do well with that.  They don’t like who they are (especially in middle school) or they are embarassed about their family or something.

I haven’t decided if this will be done paper and pencil style or if, perhaps, each kid will create a wiki or a webpage with iWeb (it is SO easy to use and always looks amazing).  Maybe they could do something in Comic Life?  I guess I will have to see as we go, but I guess I should figure out the start since they will be picking people tomorrow!!!  When I have this thing figured out, I will post it in hopes of some help…

 

Leave a Reply

