Teaching and Tasties

Delicious eats and daring, death-defying teaching feats

Back to School August 27, 2008

Filed under: School — tlsussman @ 1:12 am

Well, tomorrow it’s official!  Back to school I go.  I think I am excited, but like every other first year, I am SO nervous.  After two days of professional development, I still don’t think I’m ready.  Of course, it doesn’t help that the computer lab will be absolutely, completely booked for three weeks for MAPs testing.  Gotta love the state and its’ testing.  Really.  So…I have to figure out what to do about my most amazing wiki project ever…OK…maybe not most amazing, but I was really excited about it.  I think that I can find a way to work it out, but, as always, a pain in the butt.

I had a bit of a spat with the French teacher, as she thought the fact that I was giving “Welcome Back Sacks” to my 6th graders would be divisive within our department and would cause trouble in the school.  Whatever.  I’m pretty sure she is just a bit crazy.  Once I explained everything, all was well.  Too bad she is almost 50 and still acts like she’s 12.

Since I don’t have a classroom this year, I have a great cart with all sorts of drawers and such.  I am not excited about not having a classroom, but my cart is pretty rockin’.  If nothing else, I will make the best of it and see where that gets me.  Between travelling to our elementary schools to teach and roaming the school on a cart, I am on my way to a great year.  If this was a high school, I think I would be more understanding…but in a middle school?  And I’m the only one!!!

Well, here’s to the start of the new year!

 

Leave a Reply

