Teaching and Tasties

Delicious eats and daring, death-defying teaching feats

Cravings August 16, 2008

Filed under: Food — tlsussman @ 2:10 pm

I woke up this morning, sick of the normal breakfast foods. No more gluten-free cereal, no more smoothies. Breads by Anna to the rescue. I made a delicious pumpkin bread that cooked up in just an hour. It is incredible.

mmm...pumpkin bread!

mmm...pumpkin bread!

I was thinking up all sorts of yummy things to put on it. Peanut butter and jelly was my first choice, but it seems a bit too sweet. I don’t have any apple butter, but I bet that would be good too. Of course, pumpkin bread on its own is delish too.

I also made chocolate chip banana nut muffins. The recipe came from the back of the Ancient Harvest Quinoa Flakes box. It’s not a bad recipe, but a little tasteless. The chocolate chips help, but maybe an extra banana would be good. Here is the recip:

1/2 cup Quinoa Flour

1/2 cup Quinoa Flour

2 Tbsp Agave (substituted for honey)

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

2 ripe bananas

2 eggs (I used egg replacer)

Preheat the oven to 400. Mix all dry ingredients. In a separate bow mix together the wet ingredients. Add the dry ingredients to the wet and mix until blended. Pour into greased muffin tins and bake for 20-25 min.

The agave is not as sweet as the honey, so it could probably use some extra. They are great in the morning since they have some extra protein, but it is also a little dry. Some applesauce may help also! They didn’t come out very pretty, but they are quite good.

Chocolate Chip Banana Nut Muffins

Chocolate Chip Banana Nut Muffins

Good for a quick snack, which I am always looking for, or a quick bit in the morning. I made mine mini so I feel like I am eating more.

 

Leave a Reply

