Teaching and Tasties

Delicious eats and daring, death-defying teaching feats

A Wonderful Lunch August 11, 2008

Filed under: Random — tlsussman @ 11:03 pm

I had the privilege of having three lovely ladies for lunch today.  Not only was it nice to have some girlfriends over, but peers and colleagues.  I don’t necessarily have a group at work that I can chat with and bounce ideas off of…so it was nice to talk a bit about school and life in general.

We had an AMAZING potluck buffet that was absolutely delicious!  Everyone brought a little something, so it was a great mix of all sorts of food.  I’s always interesting to see what people make – I think it says a lot about a persona what how they are and what they like.  My favorite was the fresh veggie wraps with thai peanut sauce and thai chile sauce.  I have to be honest…I stole the sauce recipes from allrecipes.com and foodnetwork.com…but it was worth it!!!

Thai Vegetable Lettuce Wraps

Thai Vegetable Lettuce Wraps

These were SO easy to make and absolutely refreshing for the summer.  You can put anything you want, but I julienned carrots, cucumbers and red peppers and shitake mushrooms and some bean sprouts.  The wrappers are just Boston lettuce, but daikon radishes or jicama would add a sweetness to it.

Peanut Sauce (allrecipes.com)

1/2 cup crunchy peanut butter
2 tablespoons soy sauce
1 teaspoon white sugar
2 drops hot pepper sauce
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 cup water

Mix all ingredients together until smooth.

Thai Chile Sauce (foodnetwork.com)

1/2 cup fresh lime juice
1/4 cup fish sauce
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1 fresh Thai red chile, finely diced
2 teaspoons sugar
1 shallot, finely diced

Mix all ingredients together.  Let sit at room temperature for 1 hour.

Instead of sugar, I used stevia and wheat-free Tamari instead of soy sauce.  They were simple and simply delicious!

The other food was also absolutely delish: aduki bean dip and fresh veggies, Indian potato and okra and stuffed peppers.  Dessert…vegan chocolate peanut butter pudding pie.  mmmm…

Aduki Bean Dip

Aduki Bean Dip

 

4 Responses to “A Wonderful Lunch”

  1. Laura Says:

    Yeah!!!! Welcome to Blog-land!! I’m so glad you posted the peanut sauce and chile sauce recipes! They were so delicious!!!! Thanks for a FANTASTIC lunch and for tons of great clothes, too!

  2. Tina Says:

    Where you able to tolerate it all?

  3. tlsussman Says:

    Not all of it…but I hate to say that I’m not sure what the problem was. The Indian dish had mustard seed…I think that’s what go to me. I tried to avoid sugar, also, but EVERYTHING has sugar hidden it. My next goal: find fish sauce and tomato sauce without sugar. Or a replacement for fish sauce!

  4. AlexM Says:

    Your blog is interesting!

    Keep up the good work!


Leave a Reply

